Getting back in shape

Blogworld friends, this is my official declaration that I am getting back in shape.  I am a person who desperately needs accountability in this arena so I am determined that if I say it here, for all to read, I will have to actually do it.  So along with my couch to 5 K running plan, I will be blogging about the food I am actually eating.  Now, disclaimer time.  If you would like to go along with me on this journey, you must know a few things.  I adamantly refuse to diet.  I love food and any full-blown restrictions on my diet cause me to just want whatever that I cannot have even more.  So, I am just making a conscious effort to make wise choices.  Hopefully posting here for all to see what I eat each day will motivate me to not down an entire sleeve of Oreos or make a quick run through the McDonald’s drive through.  Disclaimer number 2… Thanksgiving is next week.  I LOVE Thanksgiving and all of the food I will consume on that day.  I will definitely be posting about it, if you want to be über healthy on Thanksgiving, do not read.  I will not be.  But, I will run that morning so I won’t feel the least bit bad about what all I eat.  Disclaimer number 3… I still have to bake.  So, basically, I am going to make better day-to-day meal choices so that when I have an unquenchable desire to make muffins or cookies, or whatever, I will do it.  I will have one or 2, and I will know that I am still way better off than I was when I was not exercising and not making better food choices.

So, that being said, we are off.  Yesterday was day 1.  I downloaded the Couch 2 5 K running plan here and we had a great whole family jog to get started.  I had a bowl of multi-grain Cheerios for breakfast and for lunch we went out to the Buena Vista Grille for my grandfather’s birthday.  Luckily they had my favorite, lettuce wedge salad and I ordered a bowl of crab soup.  I am positive it was not low-fat or low cal soup but it was delicious.  To top it off we had birthday cake.  But, the only saving grace for my choices was that by the time we got home, I felt terrible from the cold I have and I didn’t feel like eating dinner.  I had a cup of blackberry hot tea instead and went to bed with Maddie May.

Day 2

Still feeling a little coldish but I still got up and ran this morning.  I am not following the plan exactly because I want to do more than 3 days per week.  I’m going to try to do Mon-Wed-Fri-Sun with the plan, and walk Tuesday and Thursday.  We will see what happens on Saturdays!  Here is what I fed my body with today:

Wake up – 16 oz water

6:45 am BreakfastQuaker Maple Brown Sugar Oatmeal with 1% milk

9:00am Morning Treat – Coffee with a little sugar & Nestle CoffeeMate Natural Bliss vanilla flavor

10:15 am 2nd Breakfast – Whole Wheat Toast Topped with Eggs & Fresh Veggies

2 eggs

2 tbsp sliced onion

2 tsp diced jalapeno

2 tbsp diced tomato

2 tbsp diced mushroom

1 tbsp shredded cheese

salt & pepper to taste

1 slice whole wheat bread

*scramble eggs in a small bowl.  Saute veggies in non-stick pan (use spray or a very small amt of oil) until soft.

Add eggs and cook to desired doneness.  Add salt & pepper to taste.  Top with cheese and stir to melt.

Serve on top of one slice of toasted whole wheat bread.

 

1:00pm Snack – handful of roasted cashews

2:00pm Lunch – Chicken Salad with Triscuits

12.5 oz can of Swanson 98% fat-free chicken

1 celery stalk finely diced

2 green onions finely chopped

10 purple grapes quartered

4 almonds sliced

2 tbsp low-fat mayo

1 tsp fresh lemon juice

1/2 tsp sugar

dash of mustard powder

dash of garlic powder

Break up chicken with a fork and combine all ingredients in a bowl.  Serve with reduced fat triscuits.  About 1/3 of the chicken salad & 7 triscuits is approx 200 calories and about 5.5 g fat.  It is very filling!

5:30pm – dinner

This does not in any way fit into a healthier eating plan but it was planned long before I decided to do this, so, we had pizza and cake.  I did stick to just one and a half slices of delicious Vincenzo’s pizza (which I highly recommend) and a VERY tiny slice of cake.  So offensively small in fact that my 2-year-old would not eat it because it “looks like a slide”.  You see, it was the big reveal party to find out if I am going to have a new niece or a new nephew & I was thrilled to find out I am having another nephew.  My sister is expecting her first baby in March and I could not be more excited to meet him.  That is why I had no choice but to eat the delicious pizza and cake from Mrs. Pumpkins – it was to celebrate!  This should just serve as further proof that this will not in any way be a journey through a perfect eating plan that any dietician in his or her right mind would recommend.  But, it is better than what I have been doing and might serve as inspiration for someone else to do better as well.  I’m not looking to win any awards for healthiest woman alive, just trying to be a better me.

One response

  1. Pingback: Seriously people, the Ninja, is awesome! | My Preppy Kitchen

Leave a Reply

