Day 3… still going but now with a sick kid!

Day 3

I am feeling a little better but now I have a sick little one.  Will was up much of the night with a terrible cough and running a fever.  So, just like I expected, there was a kink in my plans from the get go.  But, Jeff just let me sleep a little late and I was still able to get in my 20 min walk with a very happy dog before he left for work.  I know this is miraculous that I am posting not only 2 days in a row, but also twice in one day!  I just didn’t have time to put yesterday’s meals on here before I crashed last night.

7:15am – wake up and drink 16 oz water

8:00am – breakfast – Quaker Maple Brown Sugar Oatmeal with 1% milk

9:30am – snack – small handful of cashews

10:00am – morning treat – Coffee with a little sugar & Nestle CoffeeMate Natural Bliss vanilla flavor

12:00pm – lunch – salad with green leaf lettuce, red bell pepper, yellow onion, cherry tomatoes, avocado, and Makoto Ginger dressing (I LOVE THIS STUFF!!!)

1:00pm – NutRition Bone Health Bar (I started craving something sweet – this seemed like a good option!)

4:00pm – afternoon snack – 10 quaker mini cheddar rice cakes

6:30pm – dinner – Baked Salmon with Sauteed Veggies and Brown Rice

I found a great deal on salmon at Food Lion today in the freezer section.  It was 1.5 lb wild caught alaskan salmon for $8.99.  It is pre sliced so I just thawed it out and placed it right in a dish coated with cooking spray.  Gently pat the salmon dry and brush with olive oil.  Squeeze lemon over the salmon and sprinkle lightly with coarse salt, garlic pepper (I use McCormick Grinder), and dried dill.  Bake in 350 degree oven for about 15 min.  Check for your desired doneness.  My family likes salmon pretty well done so that it flakes with a fork.

For the veggies, chop 6 cups of any of the following:

red bell pepper, zucchini, yellow squash, carrots, onions, garlic

Heat a small amount of olive oil just to coat the pan.  Add veggies and saute just until they are tender but still a little crisp.  Season to taste with coarse salt and fresh ground pepper.

While all of this is cooking, prepare brown rice according to package directions.  I use a rice cooker so I can turn it on in the beginning and leave it.  Just remember when you make brown rice you need lots more water with the rice cooker!

As I am typing tonight, I am craving something sweet.  So, I resorted to my pregnancy staple – when I was pregnant I always wanted something chocolate late at night but I didn’t want a ton of calories.  A big glass of of skim milk with low sugar Quick is perfect. It hit the spot!

Leave a Reply

