Finally, a food post again… Sausage and Jalapeno French Bread Pizza

I know it has been days since I last blogged a dinner. Trust me, I have been cooking, even taking pictures.  I just haven’t had a minute to get down here and blog about it.  Between sick kids and working (yes, I have taken on a part-time job to make some money to get MPK off the ground)  I have been a hot mess the past 2 weeks. I promise I will do better and give you more delicious easy dinners to try.

Tonight was one of those nights when I seriously regret not planning the week’s meals out fully.  We had planned to go to the Dixie Classic Fair tonight so I had no intention of cooking.  I was planning to gorge myself on the world’s unhealthiest foods and love every minute of it.  I have said it before and will say it again, second only to salsa or guacamole, Funnel Cake is among the world’s most perfect foods.  But, it was not meant to be.  One child still with the sickies meant that we will not be enjoying the fun (read:terrifying) rides, terribly unhealthy (read:delicious) food, and my favorite pastime of people watching.  Seriously, there is no place with better people watching than the fair.  There is only one place I have ever been that could rival it and that was at the Dockhouse Restaurant in Beaufort, NC.  It was 4th of July weekend MANY years ago and the place was packed with people of all sorts.  The people watching was so good that we went so far as to make up a game that involved beer and predictions about the next person who would walk out the door.  My girlfriends and I were literally sitting on a fence railing for hours “playing” this game.  We laughed so hard people were beginning to stare.  Now that I am thinking about it I’m sure people were probably people watching us as well.  But, I digress, the fair, the people watching, they should sell tickets just for that.

So, because I had not planned to make dinner tonight I had to come up with something on the fly since I spent the afternoon baking for the Clemmons Country Store.  I had a loaf of french bread I bought at Lowes Foods earlier in the week for $.99, and I had some cheese, sausage, and some jalapenos.  I decided to make up a new pizza and it was all done in a snap!

SAUSAGE AND JALAPENO FRENCH BREAD PIZZA

To begin with, I sliced the bread in half-length wise and then sliced it into 3 pieces (which makes 6 when you split them)

To make the sauce, open a 15 oz can of tomato sauce ( I used Lowes Foods brand).  Mix with it 1 tsp each of dried sweet basil and dried oregano, 1/2 tsp of dried parsley, 1/4 tsp of onion powder and garlic powder.  Then add 1 tbsp red wine.

Add the sauce to the bread.  If you have little hands who like to help, a great job for them is to spread the sauce on all pieces of bread.  Let the sauce soak into the bread during the next step.  Only use about 2/3 of the sauce.  Save the remaining 1/3 for the next step.

Next I brown 1/2 lb of sausage.  I love Jimmy Dean All Natural when I am out of the local fresh sausage I get from the farm across from my grandparents house.  Drain the sausage and leave the drippings in the pan.

Slice as much jalapeno, red onion, and garlic as you would like on your pizza.  I used a large jalapeno and about 1/4 of a small red onion and 2 garlic cloves.  Toss them all into the pan with the sausage drippings.  Saute just until slightly softened and then pour in the remaining 1/3 of the tomato sauce.

Cook it down slightly.

I made enough of the jalapeno mixture to top 2 of the pizzas because the kids didn’t want the heat.  Make more if you want to top them all.  If so, you might want to double the sauce mixture as well.

When the mixture has cooked down slightly, top the pizzas with it.  Next, add the browned sausage.

Top pizzas with shredded mozzarella and grated parmesan.  I used about 3 cups of mozzarella.  Add the parmesan to taste.

Bake at 400 for about 15 min, then turn on the broiler for 5-10 min, depending on how brown and bubbly you like your cheese.

Pair it with a side salad and you have a quick, well-balanced meal that costs almost nothing!  Everyone here loved it.

This sad little bite is all that was left, and if I know my husband, it didn’t last long when he was cleaning the kitchen (yes, I know how lucky I am).  I’m sure he couldn’t just throw it away, and what a waste to wrap up that little bite and let it get lost in the fridge!

So, that’s it for my super easy dinner tonight.  Make sure you make a stop tomorrow at the Clemmons Country Store to try some pumpkin bread and peanut butter cookies.  Yes, I know this is a picture of a pumpkin muffin and not a pumpkin loaf, but I forgot to take pictures before I took them.  I would have taken some muffins but they get eaten around here as soon as I bake them!  I am hoping to take some more things tomorrow but I am not certain it will happen.  Drop me a comment to let me know what you think!

Thanks for reading, good night!

2 responses

  1. Pingback: Delicious Easy Dinners | Healthy Eating | Free Tips and Information

Leave a Reply

