Red Beans and Rice with Honey Drizzled Hush Puppies – YUM!

OK, after last night and tonight, you are all going to think I never do anything that requires any skill because this was another super simple meal to prepare that turned out delicious.  Until I burned half the batch of hushpuppies that is… but even burned they were pretty yummy.   I only burned them because I had a half naked child was running laps through my kitchen trying to convince everyone she did not need to go to the potty.  Naked babies in a room with hot oil tends to distract a person I will admit!  You can fix almost anything if you drizzle it with honey though so even the burned ones were gobbled up.

I will preface this by saying that I love spicy food and this is something that in my opinion is meant to be spicy.  But, when making it for kids I always tone it down a notch (or 10).  My kids like a little spice too so it is definitely not bland, even when made a little milder.   I used smoked turkey sausage to make it a little healthier & served over brown rice.  Next time I will use white rice.  I know brown is better for you but we all know white rice just tastes better in a dish like this!  If you use brown and cook it in a rice cooker like I do, make sure you add extra water or it will be dry.  I served it with some heavenly fried hush puppies though so I probably completely negated the value of the brown rice anyways!  Here it is:

RED BEANS & RICE

2 C dried red beans (soaked over night and drained right before use)

1 med yellow onion diced

1/2 lb smoked turkey sausage (halved and then quartered length wise then sliced in to pieces)

2 cloves of garlic crushed

Salt, Pepper, Creole Seasoning

5 C Water

Hot cooked rice (about 3 cups uncooked)

Texas Pete hot sauce to taste

The night before you want to make this easy dinner, cover your dried red beans with water in a large bowl and just leave them there.  When I say soak over night I mean just that.  Super easy.  Put diced onion, sliced sausage, and drained beans all into a slow cooker.  Season liberally with salt, pepper, and creole seasoning (add more for more heat).  Add water and stir well to mix.  Add Texas Pete to taste and stir.  Cook on low for 8 hours.  After 8 hours, remove about 3/4 cup of mixture and mash it or run it through a mini chopper and return it to the crock pot and cook on high for 30 more min.  This will thicken the sauce a little.  Serve in a big bowl over steaming hot rice & enjoy!  If you put this in in the morning and leave for work, don’t worry at all if it cooks longer than 8 hours, will just make the flavors meld together even better!  If you are not trying to keep it healthy, top with sour cream and some diced jalapenos for a little heat… now I am wishing I had done that.  Next time!

 

HONEY DRIZZLED HUSH PUPPIES

2 large eggs

1/2 C sugar

1/4t kosher salt

1 C cornmeal

3/4 C self-rising flour

Vegetable oil for frying

In a large mixing bowl, mix together eggs, sugar, and salt.  Add cornmeal & flour.  Heat a heavy bottom pot to about 360 with a few inches of oil (enough to more than cover hushpuppies when you drop them in).  Using a small scoop or a basic tablespoon, scoop and drop carefully into hot oil, frying for about 5 min.  Be sure to turn them as they fry to cook them evenly.  Drain on a cooling rack over a towel.  While they are still hot, drizzle with honey to taste (be generous, its good!)  Eat them while they are hot.

 

This is such an easy meal, even with the hushpuppies.  If you don’t have the time, or don’t want to fry, make some quick cornbread or corn muffins that can be cooking in the oven while you set the table, and finish off the beans & rice.  Let me know if you try it!

Enjoy!

One response

Leave a Reply

